# Cape Light Compact JPE Governing Board Executive Session Meeting Minutes Wednesday, April 21, 2021

Pursuant to Massachusetts Governor Charles D. Baker's Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law on March 12, 2020, the Cape Light Compact JPE Board of Directors met on Wednesday, April 21, 2021 at 2 p.m. The meeting was held through a Zoom videoconference for members of the Board with audio call-in available for members of the public.

#### **Present Were:**

- 1. David Anthony, Secretary/Executive Committee, Barnstable
- 2. Peter Doyle, Barnstable Alternate
- 3. Robert Schofield, Executive Committee, Bourne
- 4. Colin Odell, Executive Committee, Brewster
- 5. Peter Cocolis, Chatham
- 6. Erik Peckar, Dukes County
- 7. Fred Fenlon, Eastham
- 8. Alan Strahler, Edgartown
- 9. Ronald Zweig, Falmouth
- 10. Valerie Bell, Harwich
- 11. Richard Toole, Executive Committee, Oak Bluffs
- 12. Martin Culik, Chair/Executive Committee, Orleans
- 13. Nathaniel Mayo, Provincetown
- 14. Leanne Drake, Sandwich
- 15. Jay Grande, Tisbury Alternate
- 16. Bob Higgins-Steele, Truro Alternate
- 17. Richard Elkin, Executive Committee, Wellfleet
- 18. Sue Hruby, West Tisbury
- 19. Joyce Flynn, Vice Chair/Executive Committee, Yarmouth
- 20. Mike Duffy, Yarmouth Alternate

#### **Absent Were:**

- 1. Forrest Filler, Aquinnah
- 2. Timothy Carroll, Executive Committee, Chilmark
- 3. Brad Crowell, Dennis
- 4. Wayne Taylor, Mashpee
- 5. Kirk Metell, Tisbury
- 6. Jarrod Cabral, Truro

#### **Legal Counsel:**

Jeffrey Bernstein, Esq., BCK Law, P.C.

#### **Staff Present:**

Austin Brandt, Senior Power Supply Planner Brianna Kane, Residential Program Manager Dan Schell, Marketing and Communications Coordinator Maggie Downey, Administrator

# Open Session Vote on entry into Executive Session pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A §§21(a)(3) and (10) to discuss matters below, to return to open session:

Martin Culik at 2:02 PM moved to enter into Executive Session pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A §21(a)(3) and (10) to (1) review and approve executive session minutes which contain discussions regarding pending or imminent regulatory litigation and trade secrets and confidential, competitively-sensitive or other proprietary power supply information related to a proposed Low-Income Community Solar project (when the release of the discussion would have a detrimental effect on the Compact's negotiating position); and (2) to discuss pending or imminent regulatory litigation and trade secrets and confidential, competitively-sensitive or other proprietary power supply information related to a proposed Low-Income Community Solar project, not to return to open session thereafter. Seconded by Robert Schofield.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Erik	Peckar	Dukes County	Yes
Fred	Fenlon	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Ron	Zweig	Falmouth	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Nate	Mayo	Provincetown	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Sue	Hruby	West Tisbury	Yes
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

*Motion carried in the affirmative (16-0-0)* 

#### **LOW INCOME SOLAR PROJECT:**

Maggie Downey stated that the ConEdison Clean Energy Business (CEB) Low Income Community Shared Solar (LICSS) projects discussed at the March Executive Session have not received a pre-determination letter from the Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources (DOER) and that the DOER will not be issuing new pre-determination letters until the Revised SMART Regulations are finalized.

Austin Brandt stated if it is approved then it will be brought back to the Board for discussion.

#### **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

The Board considered the March 10, 2021 Executive Session Meeting Minutes.

Colin Odell stated that in the return to open session vote he was not absent and voted "yes."

Robert Schofield moved the Board to accept the minutes as amended, seconded by Peter Cocolis

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Fred	Fenlon	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Ron	Zweig	Falmouth	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Nate	Mayo	Provincetown	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Sue	Hruby	West Tisbury	Yes
Mike	Duffy	Yarmouth	Yes

Motion carried in the affirmative (15-0-0)

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

Motion to adjourn made at 4:45 PM moved by Robert Schofield, seconded by Colin Odell.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Erik	Peckar	Dukes County	Yes
Fred	Fenlon	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Ron	Zweig	Falmouth	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Nate	Mayo	Provincetown	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Sue	Hruby	West Tisbury	Yes
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

Motion carried in the affirmative (16-0-0)

Respectfully submitted,

### Melissa Allard

## **LIST OF DOCUMENTS AND EXHIBITS:**

- Meeting Notice/Agenda
- March 10, 2021 Meeting Minutes