Cape Light Compact JPE Governing Board Executive Session Meeting Minutes Wednesday, March 15, 2023

Pursuant to Massachusetts Governor Charles D. Baker's Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law on March 12, 2020, the Cape Light Compact JPE Board of Directors met on Wednesday, March 15, 2023, at 2:00 p.m. The meeting was held through a Zoom videoconference for members of the Board with audio call-in available for members of the public.

Participating In-Person Were:

- 1. Robert Schofield, Executive Committee, Bourne
- 2. Colin Odell, Executive Committee, Brewster
- 3. Brad Crowell, Dennis
- 4. Tom McNellis, Eastham
- 5. Gary Senecal, Eastham Alternate
- 6. Valerie Bell, Harwich
- 7. Martin Culik, Chair/Executive Committee, Orleans
- 8. David Jacobson, Orleans Alternate

Participating Remotely Were:

- 1. David Anthony, Secretary/Executive Committee, Barnstable
- 2. Peter Doyle, Barnstable Alternate
- 3. Peter Cocolis, Chatham
- 4. Timothy Carroll, Chilmark
- 5. Alan Strahler, Edgartown
- 6. Nathaniel Mayo, Provincetown
- 7. Leanne Drake, Sandwich
- 8. Bob Higgins-Steele, Truro
- 9. Richard Elkin, Executive Committee, Wellfleet
- 10. Erik Peckar, Executive Committee, West Tisbury
- 11. Joyce Flynn, Vice Chair/Executive Committee, Yarmouth

Absent Were:

- 1. Forrest Filler, Aquinnah
- 2. Meghan Gombos, Dukes County
- 3. Matthew Patrick, Falmouth
- 4. Wayne Taylor, Mashpee
- 5. Peter Meleney, Oak Bluffs
- 6. Russ Hartenstine, Tisbury
- 7. Jarrod Cabral, Truro

Legal Counsel Participating Remotely:

Audrey Eidelman Kiernan, Esq., KO Law, P.C.

Staff Participation In-Person:

Maggie Downey, Administrator

Staff Participating Remotely:

Dan Schell, Senior Analyst - Retail and Demand Response Dave Botelho, Data Analyst Mariel Marchand, Power Supply Planner Melissa Allard, Senior Administrative Coordinator Phil Moffitt, Chief Financial Officer

Martin Culik noted that before he made the required Executive Session declaration, he asked those members who are participating remotely to confirm that no other person is present or able to hear the executive session discussion at their remote location. He did this by asking everyone as a group to say yes, affirming that no one could hear the discussion. After receiving affirmation from the Board members participating remotely, Martin made the required declaration to enter into executive session.

OPEN SESSION VOTE ON ENTRY INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION PURSUANT TO M.G.L. C. 30A §§21(A)(3) TO DISCUSS MATTERS BELOW, TO NOT RETURN TO OPEN SESSION:

Martin Culik at 2:11 PM moved to enter into Executive Session pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A §§21(a)(3) to review and approve February 8, 2023 Executive Session minutes regarding pending litigation, the appeal of Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities D.P.U. 20-40, Cape & Vineyard Electrification Offering (CVEO) and the appeal of CVEO as proposed in the 2022-2024 Energy Efficiency Plan, D.P.U. 21-126, SJ-2021-0443 and SJ-2022-0088, respectively, to return to open session thereafter. Seconded by Joyce Flynn.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Tim	Carroll	Chilmark	Yes
Brad	Crowell	Dennis	Yes
Tom	McNellis	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Erik	Peckar	West Tisbury	Yes
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

Motion carried in the affirmative (15-0-0)

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

The Board considered the February 8, 2023 Executive Session Meeting Minutes.

Robert Schofield moved the Board to accept the minutes and to release them as amended, seconded by Colin Odell.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Ves
Duvia	1 Million y	Dariistatic	1 65

Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Tim	Carroll	Chilmark	Yes
Brad	Crowell	Dennis	Yes
Tom	McNellis	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Erik	Peckar	West Tisbury	Yes
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

Motion carried in the affirmative (15-0-0)

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION:

At 2:14 PM, Martin Culik asked for a motion to end the executive session, moved by Robert Schofield, seconded by Joyce Flynn.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Tim	Carroll	Chilmark	Yes
Brad	Crowell	Dennis	Yes
Tom	McNellis	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Erik	Peckar	West Tisbury	Yes
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

Motion carried in the affirmative (15-0-0)

Respectfully submitted,

Melissa Allard

LIST OF DOCUMENTS AND EXHIBITS:

Meeting Notice/Agenda

February 8, 2023, Draft Executive Session Meeting Minutes