# Cape Light Compact JPE Governing Board Executive Session Meeting Minutes Wednesday, January 11, 2023

Pursuant to Massachusetts Governor Charles D. Baker's Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law on March 12, 2020, the Cape Light Compact JPE Board of Directors met on Wednesday, January 11, 2023, at 2:00 p.m. The meeting was held through a Zoom videoconference for members of the Board with audio call-in available for members of the public.

### Participating In-Person Were:

- 1. Robert Schofield, Executive Committee, Bourne
- 2. Colin Odell, Executive Committee, Brewster
- 3. Valerie Bell, Harwich
- 4. Martin Culik, Chair/Executive Committee, Orleans
- 5. David Jacobson, Orleans Alternate
- 6. Joyce Flynn, Vice Chair/Executive Committee, Yarmouth

### **Participating Remotely Were:**

- 1. David Anthony, Secretary/Executive Committee, Barnstable
- 2. Peter Cocolis, Chatham
- 3. Timothy Carroll, Chilmark
- 4. Tom McNellis, Eastham
- 5. Gary Senecal, Eastham Alternate
- 6. Alan Strahler, Edgartown
- 7. Matthew Patrick, Falmouth
- 8. Wayne Taylor, Mashpee
- 9. Leanne Drake, Sandwich
- 10. Russ Hartenstine, Tisbury
- 11. Bob Higgins-Steele, Truro Alternate
- 12. Richard Elkin, Executive Committee, Wellfleet
- 13. Erik Peckar, Executive Committee, West Tisbury

# Absent Were:

- 1. Forrest Filler, Aquinnah
- 2. Brad Crowell, Dennis
- 3. Meghan Gombos, Dukes County
- 4. Peter Meleney, Oak Bluffs
- 5. Nathaniel Mayo, Provincetown
- 6. Jarrod Cabral, Truro

# Legal Counsel Participating Remotely:

Audrey Eidelman Kiernan, Esq., KO Law, P.C.

### **Staff Participatin In-Perosn:**

Maggie Downey, Administrator

Staff Participating Remotely:

### Margaret Song, Energy Efficiency Strategy and Policy Manager Melissa Allard, Senior Administrative Coordinator

Martin Culik noted the before he made the required Executive Session declaration, he asked those members who are participating remotely confirm that no other person is present or able to hear the executive session discussion at their remote location. He did this by asking everyone as a group to say yes, affirming that no one could hear the discussion. After receiving affirmation from the Board members participating remotely, Martin made the required declaration to enter into executive session.

#### <u>OPEN SESSION VOTE ON ENTRY INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION PURSUANT TO M.G.L. C. 30A §§21(A)(3) AND (10)</u> TO DISCUSS MATTERS BELOW, TO NOT RETURN TO OPEN SESSION:

Martin Culik at 3:44 PM moved to enter into Executive Session pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A §§21(a)(3) and (a)(10) to review and approve the December 14, 2022 Executive Session Minutes regarding strategy on pending or imminent regulatory litigation, Massachusetts Department of Public Utilities D.P.U. 14-69 B (Order on Appeal of Hearing Officer Ruling on Customer Enrollment), not to return to open session thereafter. Seconded by Robert Schofield.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Tim	Carroll	Chilmark	Yes
Tom	McNellis	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Matt	Patrick	Falmouth	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Wayne	Taylor	Mashpee	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Russ	Hartenstine	Tisbury	Absent
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Erik	Peckar	West Tisbury	Yes
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

*Motion carried in the affirmative (16-0-0)* 

### Tim Carroll left meeting at 3:46PM.

### **Approval of Minutes:**

The Board considered the December 14, 2022, Executive Session Meeting Minutes.

Joyce Flynn moved the Board to accept the minutes as amended and to release them as amended, seconded by Robert Schofield.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Tom	McNellis	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Matt	Patrick	Falmouth	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Wayne	Taylor	Mashpee	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Russ	Hartenstine	Tisbury	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Abstained
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Erik	Peckar	West Tisbury	Abstained
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

*Motion carried in the affirmative (14-0-2)* 

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

Motion to adjourn made at 3:50 PM moved by Robert Schofield, seconded by Valerie Bell.

David	Anthony	Barnstable	Yes
Robert	Schofield	Bourne	Yes
Colin	Odell	Brewster	Yes
Peter	Cocolis	Chatham	Yes
Tom	McNellis	Eastham	Yes
Alan	Strahler	Edgartown	Yes
Matt	Patrick	Falmouth	Yes
Valerie	Bell	Harwich	Yes
Wayne	Taylor	Mashpee	Yes
Martin	Culik	Orleans	Yes
Leanne	Drake	Sandwich	Yes
Russ	Hartenstine	Tisbury	Yes
Bob	Higgins-Steele	Truro	Yes
Richard	Elkin	Wellfleet	Yes
Erik	Peckar	West Tisbury	Yes
Joyce	Flynn	Yarmouth	Yes

Motion carried in the affirmative (16-0-0)

Respectfully submitted,

Lindsay Henderson

# LIST OF DOCUMENTS AND EXHIBITS:

- Meeting Notice/Agenda
- December 14, 2022, Executive Session Meeting Minutes