Cape Light Compact Governing Board Wednesday, September 10, 2014 Executive Session Meeting Minutes

The Governing Board of the Cape Light Compact met in Executive Session on Wednesday, September 10, 2014 in Room 11/12, Superior Court House, 3195 Main Street, Barnstable, MA 02630.

PRESENT WERE:

- 1. Dr. Joyce Flynn, Chairwoman, Yarmouth
- 2. Robert Schofield, Vice-Chair, Bourne
- 3. Peter Cabana, Member at Large, Dukes County
- 4. William Doherty, Barnstable County
- 5. David Anthony, Barnstable
- 6. Deane Keuch, Brewster
- 7. Timothy Carroll, Chilmark remotely by phone
- 8. Brad Crowell, Dennis
- 9. Frederick Fenlon, Eastham
- 10. Paul Pimentel, Edgartown
- 11. Ronald Zweig, Falmouth remotely by phone
- 12. Thomas Mayo, Mashpee
- 13. Richard Toole, Oak Bluffs
- 14. Everett Horn, Sandwich
- 15. Peter Fontecchio, Truro
- 16. Richard Elkin, Wellfleet
- 17. Susan Hruby, W. Tisbury

ABSENT WERE:

Michael Hebert, Aquinnah Peter Cocolis, Treasurer, Chatham Barry Worth, Secretary, Harwich Orleans, Vacant Thomas Donegan, Provincetown Tisbury, Vacant

STAFF PRESENT:

Maggie Downey, Administrator Meredith Miller, C&I Program Manager Margaret Song, Residential Program Manager Stephan Wollenburg, Sr. Power Supply Manager Philip Moffitt, EM&V Manager Vicki Marchant, C&I Program Analyst Briana Kane, Sr. Residential Program Coordinator Matthew Dudley, Residential Program Coordinator Debbie Fitton, Energy Education Coordinator Lindsay Henderson, Marketing & Data Analyst Karen Loura, Administrative Assistant

LEGAL COUNSEL:

Jeffrey Bernstein, Esq., BCK Law, PC

OPEN SESSION VOTE ON ENTRY INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 4:58 p.m., Chr. Flynn requested an Executive Session for the following reasons: (1) M.G.L. c. 30A, Section 21 (a) (10): Power Supply Procurement Strategy Discussion (confidential and competitively sensitive information; 2) M.G.L. c. 30A, Section 21 (a)(3) and Section 21(a)(10): DPU 14-69 (discussion of litigation strategy and related power supply issues), and 3) M.G.L. c 30A, Section 21 (a)(3 and (10) for the purpose of approving past Compact Executive Session Minutes. She declared that an open session may have a detrimental effect on the bargaining or litigating and negotiating positions of the Cape Light Compact. She announced that the Board would not reconvene at the conclusion of the Executive Session in Open Session this day. *D. Keuch moved the Board vote to enter into Executive Session, seconded by P. Cabana and voted by roll call vote as follows*:

1. D. Anthony, Barnstable	Yes			
2. W. Doherty, Barnstable County	Yes			
3. R. Schofield, Bourne	Yes			
4. D. Keuch, Brewster	Yes			
5. T. Carroll, Chilmark	Yes			
6. P. Cabana, Dukes County	Yes			
7. F. Fenlon, Eastham	Yes			
8. P. Pimentel, Edgartown	Yes			
Motion carried in the affirmative (16-0-0)				
Staff and Counsel were permitted to remain.				

10. T. Mayo, MashpeeYes11. R. Toole, Oak BluffsYes12. E. Horn, SandwichYes13. P. Fontecchio, TruroYes14. R. Elkin, WellfleetYes15. S. Hruby, W. TisburyYes16. J. Flynn, YarmouthYes

Yes

9. R. Zweig, Falmouth

Cape Light Compact Governing Board Meeting Minutes Wednesday, September 10, 2014

POWER SUPPLY PROCUREMENT

The Cape Light Compact offering will likely be higher than NSTAR for the 1st half of 2015 because NSTAR procured 50% of their supply in the spring of 2014. He said there will be statewide push on the anticipated polar vortex and abnormally cold winter. He reported the team will work on local marketing and education. He informed the Board all prices are going to increase and they will begin hearing reports in the news.

2. DISCUSSION OF LITIGATION STRATEGY AND RELATED POWER SUPPLY ISSUES

3. Consideration of Meeting Minutes

The Board then considered the June 11, 2014 Executive Session Meeting Minutes. M. Downey requested a change on page 2, last paragraph, 1st line to replace the word "consensus from the members" to "a sense of the members". *W. Doherty moved the Board vote to accept the minutes as amended, seconded by P. Cabana and voted by roll call vote as follows:*

1.	D. Anthony, Barnstable	Yes	9. R. Zweig, Falmouth	Yes
2.	W. Doherty, Barnstable County	Yes	10. T. Mayo, Mashpee	Yes
3.	R. Schofield, Bourne	Yes	11. R. Toole, Oak Bluffs	Yes
4.	D. Keuch, Brewster	Yes	12. E. Horn, Sandwich	Yes
5.	T. Carroll, Chilmark	Yes	13. P. Fontecchio, Truro	Yes
6.	P. Cabana, Dukes County	Yes	14. R. Elkin, Wellfleet	Yes
7.	F. Fenlon, Eastham	Yes	15. S. Hruby, W. Tisbury	Yes
8.	P. Pimentel, Edgartown	Yes	16. J. Flynn, Yarmouth	Yes
Motion	<i>carried in the affirmative (16-0-0)</i>			

The Board then considered the July 9, 2014 Executive Session Meeting Minutes. W. Doherty moved the Board accept the minutes as amended to correct attendance consistent with the 7/9/14 Open Session Minutes, seconded by F. Fenlon and voted by roll call vote as follows:

1.	D. Anthony, Barnstable	Yes
2.	W. Doherty, Barnstable Coun	ty Yes
З.	R. Schofield, Bourne	Abstained
4.	D. Keuch, Brewster	Yes
5.	T. Carroll, Chilmark	Yes
6.	P. Cabana, Dukes County	Yes
7.	F. Fenlon, Eastham	Yes
8.	P. Pimentel, Edgartown	Yes
		2 2)

9.	R. Zweig, Falmouth	Abstained
<i>10</i> .	T. Mayo, Mashpee	Yes
11.	R. Toole, Oak Bluffs	Yes
12.	E. Horn, Sandwich	Yes
<i>13</i> .	P. Fontecchio, Truro	Yes
14.	R. Elkin, Wellfleet	Yes
15.	S. Hruby, W. Tisbury	Yes
16.	J. Flynn, Yarmouth	Yes

Motion carried in the affirmative (14-0-2)

At 5:15 p.m., the Board adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Karen E. Loura Administrative Assistant

List of Documents and Exhibits: Meeting Notice/Agenda 6/11/14 Draft Executive Session Minutes 7/9/14 Draft Executive Session Minutes