# Cape Light Compact Governing Board Executive Session Meeting Minutes Wednesday, November 18, 2015

The Cape Light Compact Governing Board met in Executive Session on Wednesday, November 18, 2015 in the Innovation Room, Open Cape Building, 3195 Main Street, Barnstable MA 02630 at 2:00 p.m.

| Present Were:                                    | ABSENT WERE:                          |
|--|---------------------------------------|
| 1. Dr. Joyce Flynn, Chairwoman, Yarmouth         | 18. Michael Hebert, Aquinnah          |
| 2. Robert Schofield, Vice-Chair, Bourne          | 19. Sheila Lyons, Barnstable County   |
| 3. Brad Crowell, Dennis                          | 20. Peter Cocolis, Treasurer, Chatham |
| 4. Barry Worth, Secretary, Harwich               | 21. Dukes County - vacant             |
| 5. David Anthony, Barnstable                     | 22. Paul Pimentel, Edgartown          |
| 6. Deane Keuch, Brewster                         | 23. Tisbury – vacant                  |
| 7. Timothy Carroll, Chilmark – remotely by phone | •                                     |
| 8. Frederick Fenlon, Eastham                     |                                       |
| 9. Ronald Zweig, Falmouth                        | Members Physically present: 16        |
| 10. Thomas Mayo, Mashpee                         | Members Participating by phone: 1     |
| 11. Richard Toole, Oak Bluffs                    |                                       |
| 12. Raymond Castillo, Orleans                    |                                       |
| 13. Thomas Donegan, Provincetown                 |                                       |
| 14. Joshua Peters, Sandwich                      |                                       |
| 15. Joseph Buteau, Truro                         |                                       |
| 16. Richard Elkin, Wellfleet                     |                                       |
| 17. Susan Hruby, W. Tisbury                      |                                       |
|  |                                       |
| GAL COUNSEL                                      |                                       |
| frey Bernstein, Esq., BCK Law, PC                |                                       |

## **STAFF PRESENT:**

Margaret Downey, Administrator Meredith Miller, C&I Program Manager Margaret Song, Residential Program Manager Austin Brandt, Power Supply Planner Phil Moffitt, EM&V Manager Lindsay Henderson, Marketing & Data Analyst Karen Loura, Administrative Assistant

### OPEN SESSION VOTE ON ENTRY INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION

J. Flynn moved the Board vote to enter into Executive Session pursuant to MGL Chapter 30 § 21 (a) 3 to discuss strategy with respect to pending regulatory litigation relative to the 2016-18 Mass. Joint Statewide 3-year electric and gas Energy Efficiency Plan (DPU 15-166). She declared an open session may have a detrimental effect on the Cape Light Compact's litigating position. She said the Board would return to Open Session at the conclusion of Executive Session, seconded by B. Worth and voted by roll call as follows:

| 1. | D. Anthony, Barnstable | Yes | 10. R. Toole, Oak Bluffs     | Yes |
|----|------------------------|-----|------------------------------|-----|
| 2. | R. Schofield, Bourne   | Yes | 11. R. Castillo, Orleans     | Yes |
| 3. | D. Keuch, Brewster     | Yes | 12. T. Donegan, Provincetown | Yes |
| 4. | T. Carroll, Chilmark   | Yes | 13. J. Peters, Sandwich      | Yes |

| 5. B. Crowell, Dennis                       | Yes         | 14. J. Buteau, Truro     | Yes |  |  |  |
|---|-------------|--------------------------|-----|--|--|--|
| 6. F. Fenlon, Eastham                       | Yes         | 15. R. Elkin, Wellfleet  | Yes |  |  |  |
| 7. R. Zweig, Falmouth                       | Yes         | 16. S. Hruby, W. Tisbury | Yes |  |  |  |
| 8. B. Worth, Harwich                        | Yes         | 17. J. Flynn, Yarmouth   | Yes |  |  |  |
| 9. T. Mayo, Mashpee                         | Not present |                          |     |  |  |  |
| Motion carried in the affirmative (16-0-0). |             |                          |     |  |  |  |

### STRATEGY DISCUSSION ON CONTESTED LEGAL ISSUES ON 2016 -2018 ENERGY EFFICIENCY PLAN, DPU 15-166

[Placeholder for redacted minutes as disclosure of these minutes at this time may defeat the lawful purpose of the executive session]



At 4:24 p.m. R. Schofield moved the Board vote to adjourn Executive Session and return to Open Session, seconded by F. Fenlon and voted by roll call vote as follows:

| 1. D. Anthony, Barnstable | Yes | 10. R. Toole, Oak Bluffs     | Yes |
|---------------------------|-----|------------------------------|-----|
| 2. R. Schofield, Bourne   | Yes | 11. R. Castillo, Orleans     | Yes |
| 3. D. Keuch, Brewster     | Yes | 12. T. Donegan, Provincetown | Yes |
| 4. T. Carroll, Chilmark   | Yes | 13. J. Peters, Sandwich      | Yes |
| 5. B. Crowell, Dennis     | Yes | 14. J. Buteau, Truro         | Yes |
| 6. F. Fenlon, Eastham     | Yes | 15. R. Elkin, Wellfleet      | Yes |
| 7. R. Zweig, Falmouth     | Yes | 16. S. Hruby, W. Tisbury     | Yes |
| 8. B. Worth, Harwich      | Yes | 17. J. Flynn, Yarmouth       | Yes |
| 9. T. Mayo, Mashpee       | Yes | •                            |     |

Motion carried in the affirmative (17-0-0).

Respectfully submitted,

Karen E. Loura Administrative Assistant

# **LIST OF DOCUMENTS & EXHIBITS**

• Meeting Notice/Agenda

•